It Is Free – Someone Paid for It

Works feel lighter when appreciations and rewards are received in the end. That’s just so very natural for us human.

The cooking. The dishes. The house cleaning.

They are all ways in how a homemaker can serve her family. But I am always robbed of my joy when I start to calculate inwardly. We do this very often, don’t we? The garlic that is painstakingly fine-chopped, the sink that keeps me going back every one hourly, and the mess on the floor or sofa or table tops that constantly begs for cleaning, again. And at the end of the day I find myself passing sinister remarks to my husband, trying to subtly imply how hard I have been working the whole day and put some guilt in his conscience for not helping or thanking me enough. I find myself asking“Why am I the only one doing all these? And they are not even appreciative!”. I find no joy, and nobody in the house does.

What goes wrong?
I forget (often am not willing) to bring the gospel into the picture altogether. That is always the problem, the gospel is very close to home but is not always welcomed. Do I not receive the salvation of God and all the blessings that come with it freely? I forget that the salvation is free to me because Someone else has paid the price in the first place.

Lord Jesus paid with His blood. I am saved and set free from sin and the wrath of God.

So joyfully chop the garlic, do the dishes and fold the laundry, again and again. Pay the price and give to the family freely. Take every opportunity to follow Christ. My reward will be the joy of one step closer to being conformed to the image of the blessed Son of God.

The sweet peaceful faces which greeted me after chores ;)

The sweet peaceful faces which greeted me after chores 😉

Leave a Reply

