When Edmund Met the White Witch

Source: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis; Illustrated by Pauline Baynes

 Photo Source:
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis;
Illustrated by Pauline Baynes

“I don’t want to listen, I’m scared!” Our eldest ran away and cupped her ears with both hands.
“Come listen, the story is just getting interesting.”
“Is she good? Is she bad?”
“Listen and you’ll know.”
“No, tell me now, now. Is she good? Is she bad? She seems bad.”
“What if she’s bad?”
“I am scared. Let’s stop the story!”
“You are missing out on one of the best stories there ever is.”
“But I am scared!”
“Don’t be scared. Daddy is here with you, and I know how the story will end. It’s a happy ending.”
“Promise?”
“Yes. Now, where were we..”

I, too, dear God, am scared. What if things are not the way I want them to be, what if life takes an unpredicted turn? I fear the uncertainties this life’s story entails. I do not want to have to meet any White Witch. Is that Good Days whom I see is coming? Bad Days? I want to know now, I want to be in control.

“My Child, you are missing out on the best lessons I shall teach you through this life.”
“But Father, I am scared!”
“Fear not, for I am with you and I know, no – I control how your life’s story goes, from its beginning to its ending. All things will end for My glory, and your ultimate good, that you may share in My holiness.”

And that is a promise.

Leave a Reply

